Soulless

Fetid roses at your feet,
long bitter songs in the wind.
Gray stone crosses, shadows keep,
bury deep our raging sins.

You want to know me
and I want to touch you.
Drive my show,
drive your hollow cure.

Under soulless moon where we linger,
slide the ring of youth on my finger.
Tell me how much you love me,
I tell you how much I care.
Tell me how much you love me,
I tell you how much I care.

Not a damn bit…
not a damn bit.

Stranger kisses in my ear,
the looks we shared on display.
Forced to swallow toxic years
for everything we betrayed.

You want to kill me
and I won’t let you go.
Drive my nut,
drive your frozen core.

Under soulless moon where we linger,
slide the ring of death on my finger.
Tell me how much you hate me,
I tell you how much I care.
Tell me how much you hate me,
I tell you how much I care.

With all my heart…
all of my heart.

(I might as well write, too! This is my latest attempt at lyrics for a contemporary heavy metal song. It’s actually crammed with cliches; songs are like that, but I still want to look for other ways to express them).
 
Heavy Metal Soundtrack

Heavy Metal Soundtrack (Photo credit: Stephen Dyrgas)

Leave a Reply

