All the Help I Need, Part 3

Towson Teachers

English: A view of the stands at Johnny Unitas...

English: A view of the stands at Johnny Unitas Stadium, home of the Towson University Tigers football and lacrosse teams. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I apologize to all my former professors at Towson University for not doing more with this. I just want to say I am grateful to you; you taught me a lot (as did some few of the students). Some tried to work with me when I was unable to go to class, when I couldn’t provide more than a few ER discharge papers, sometimes less.  And one, Professor Michelle Chester, who said, “For what it’s worth, you’re a wonderful writer.” All of you helped me to remember why I started writing in the first place.

So, despite all the hell I went through the past couple of years, I know there were three places where I could get help for something, at least. And it was for something that has always been a part of me, something that in many ways helped to define me. SFF Chronicles Network, Absolute Write Water Cooler, and Towson University. They were, really, all the help I needed.

For anyone who has the means to get an education at a good school, I highly recommend it. For those who don’t, you can still write, and if you have friends, writers or not, to read your work and comment, you have a better chance to improve your craft. That chance rises even more at forums like Chronicles and AW. Now I would also add by blogging. I wouldn’t let these resources go to waste.

3 thoughts on “All the Help I Need, Part 3

  1. You mention AW but not Authonomy, so it made me wonder if you had ever tried it. I spend quite a lot of time on AW for a couple years, but once I found Authonomy it took over. I know tastes differ, so it won’t be for everyone (plus there are bad folks on any forum that you have to learn to ignore), but for me I found the experience on Authonomy helped me to improve my books more than AW did.

  2. I haven’t heard of Authonomy. But I know that in the few I was using AW and Chronicles (on Chronicles I sometimes got crits from one of my favorite authors, Teresa Edgerton), my writing improved enough so that when I went to school, there was a big difference.

    So now I will *have* to try Authonomy! It’s just, when I feel like I can’t get help anywhere else that I need it, it’s nice to know I *can* get help with my writing.

  3. Joined! Already left a couple posts, too. It might take me a while to get accustomed to it, since they’re a little different from the others, but it looks great, and I’m looking forward to getting involved. Thanks, Ted!

Leave a Reply

